Where to, Whittie?

Soccer and Stuff

Posted on: November 4, 2012

Today we had our very first soccer practice for our very first game tomorrow! I am so in love with the team this year–the energy is just marvelous and noncompetitive and fun! Plus, I elected myself as Coach and the Water Girl for the team, which means a lot of fun on my part and terror on theirs. We practiced on the side lawn of Cordiner, and by practice, I meant scrimmaged. Gosh, I forgot how fun soccer can be! Also, I forgot how tiring running can be. I have not gone to the gym at all, and I think I may start soon…but in all honesty, I think I did pretty well. I was tired, but I can be very stubborn as a defender and aggressive as a forward. Plus, playing as goalie really cut back my running, and as coach, I doubt I have to play at all tomorrow. We have about 6 to 7 subs, so I am in no fear.

I keep telling my team, “don’t worry about winning or losing, this is all about fun” and “we only won one game last year, and it was on default–the other team didn’t show up–so don’t worry.” But I have a feeling that we’ll win two of the three games this year, because my team is really good! There is this student from Japan, who is playing for the first time, and she is amazing as defense. We have a lot of sly forwards, and just a lot of ┬áhard-core runners. We also have me for the coach. I cannot wait!

Now, I must get ready for a birthday dinner–two of my suite mates are turning 20 this week, and this calls for a big celebration, i.e eating Thai food. Yum! Can’t wait.

And tonight, La Casa and Club Latino is celebrating Day of the Dead, which should be awesome. I cannot wait!

 

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

